Columbus Chamber Announces OhioHealth President & CEO David P. Blom as 2016 Columbus Award Recipient

Columbus Chamber
The Columbus Chamber provides connections, resources and solutions that help small businesses and Fortune 500 enterprises grow Central Ohio's economy.

david blom ohiohealthCOLUMBUS, Ohio – Today the Columbus Chamber announced it will present their 2016 Columbus Award to David P. Blom, president and chief executive officer of OhioHealth.

The Columbus Award, which annually recognizes outstanding business and community leadership, will be presented at the Chamber’s 2016 Annual Meeting on Thursday, February 11. Blom will be the 53rd recipient, joining a legacy of Columbus leadership that began in 1964 with Jerrie Mock, Robert Lazarus Sr. and John W. Galbreath. (View the full Columbus Award Hall of Fame list here.)

Blom is president and chief executive officer of OhioHealth, a not-for-profit, faith-based, healthcare system in Columbus, Ohio with 28,000 physicians, associates and volunteers and a network of 11 hospitals, 50+ ambulatory sites, hospice, home-health, medical equipment and other health services spanning a 46county area.

He has been a part of the OhioHealth family for more than 35 years serving in numerous leadership roles and leading OhioHealth to be repeatedly recognized as one of the top five large health systems in America by Truven Health Analytics and by FORTUNE Magazine as one of the “100 Best Companies to Work For” for nine years in a row.

“Dave’s ability to implement a successful strategy and lead with vision continues to prove why he is such an asset to the Columbus Region,” said John McEwan, chairman of the Columbus Chamber Board of Directors and managing partner of the Columbus Office of Deloitte & Touche. “In his line of work, change is a constant, so it’s the intangibles—commitment, inspiration, and passion— that make David such a successful leader and we are proud to bestow him with this award.”

Blom maintains many professional and community affiliations and served on Columbus Chamber Board of Directors from 2004 to 2012 and held the Chairman of the Board from seat from 2008-2009. In those positions he played a leadership role in laying the foundation for Columbus 2020, a regional economic development structure. He currently serves on the on the boards of Columbus 2020, Columbus Partnership, Columbus Downtown Development Commission, Columbus Foundation, Voluntary Hospitals of America (VHA) and Provista. Blom is a member of the local World Presidents’ Organization (WPO) and was appointed to the Congressional Commission on Care in 2015, a group appointed to improve veteran’s access to healthcare.

He resides in Westerville with his wife and has three adult daughters and four grandchildren.

The 2016 Columbus Chamber Annual Meeting will be held 7-9:15 a.m. on Feb. 11 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center’s Battelle Grand ballroom. For details and to purchase tickets, visit

The Annual Meeting is presented by State Auto Insurance Companies Additional support is provided by CareWorks, CareWorksComp, Columbia Gas of Ohio, Medical Mutual of Ohio, Cardinal Health, The Motorist Insurance Co., Dispatch Media Group, WBNS-10TV, City of Columbus, Bartha Audio Visual, Morgan Services, Summerfield Advertising and White Castle. First Merchants Bank is the presenting partner of the Small Business Leader Award.


The Columbus Chamber of Commerce is a resources-based non-profit organization serving over 1,300 businesses in Central Ohio. Providing support in areas such as research, marketing, talent advisement, networking, and government affairs, the Chamber has been in existence for 131 years, helping businesses thrive every step along the way.

Dilara Casey
Director, Marketing and Communications
Office: 614.225.6062/ Cell: 614.893.1564