Columbus Chamber Honors 2011 Small Business Leader Award Recipients

Columbus Chamber
The Columbus Chamber provides connections, resources and solutions that help small businesses and Fortune 500 enterprises grow Central Ohio's economy.

Columbus, Ohio (November 16, 2011) – The Columbus Chamber and its Small Business Council honored top small business leaders in the Columbus Region at the 27th annual Small Business Forum and Leader Awards. The event took place at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown.

The Small Business Leader Awards celebrate an elite group of business owners and entrepreneurs from some of the most successful businesses in Central Ohio. In 2011, the awards were expanded to include five new categories.

“Small businesses help drive the Columbus Region economy,” said Michael Dalby, president and CEO, Columbus Chamber. “The Small Business Leader Award finalists and recipients represent some of our very best, and the Chamber is pleased to recognize this group of innovative, dedicated and passionate leaders from our business community.”

The 2011 Small Business Award recipients include:

Diversity Leadership 
Farah B. Majidzadeh, Resource International, Inc. 
Awarded to a minority or woman-owned business leader that has made a direct impact on the marketplace and promotes inclusion in the workplace as well as within the community.

Christopher Irion, e-Cycle LLC 
Awarded to a local business leader who promotes sustainability in business practices and the environment.

Young Professional Leadership 
Derek Grosso, Columbus Young Professionals Club, LLC 
Awarded to a young, local business professional already making a considerable contribution within the Region.

Adapt & Innovate 
Kristen Harris & Catherine Lang-Cline, Portfolio Creative 
Awarded to a business leader or leaders who achieve success in spite of challenges.

Emerging Excellence 
Jim Lane, GBQ Redbank Advisors 
Awarded to a leader or leaders of a startup business gaining prominence within the Region.

Award finalists and recipients were selected from applications by a panel of Small Business Council and Columbus Chamber representatives. Award finalists had included Justin Spring and Danielle Walton, BringShare and Adept Marketing; Gordon Scherer and Paul Keinath, DataCenter.BZ; Bobby Whitman and Matt Dopkiss, Dynamit; Otto Beatty and Brian Brooks, E.E. Ward Moving & Storage Co. LLC; and J.J. Rodeheffer, Andrew Lynch and Edward Williams, Zipline Logistics.

The Small Business Forum & Leader Awards are produced by the Columbus Chamber and presented by Commerce National Bank with presenting partners Columbus Business First and Honorary Chair Mike Rosati, Rosati Windows. Partners include Alterra Real Estate Advisors, Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield, Bartha, Big Lots, CareWorks, CareWorks Consultants, Inc., Columbus Crew, Hahn Loeser & Parks, LLP, Integrys Energy Services Inc., KEMBA Financial Credit Union, OhioHealth, Spinelli’s Deli, and State Auto Insurance Companies. The Diversity Leadership Award was presented by Precise Resource and the Emerging Excellence Award was presented by Porter, Wright, Morris and Arthur, LLP.

About the Columbus Chamber 
The Columbus Chamber helps businesses thrive. It leads business growth, retention and expansion initiatives in the Columbus Region, enhances the business environment and delivers programs and services that enable its members to be more successful. To learn more about the Columbus Chamber, visit